Libraries truly do bring the world together as a recent phone call demonstrated. One of our patrons phoned the library as she was having difficulty accessing the online databases that are freely available for all registered borrowers to use. After clearing up what was simply a keying error, she mentioned that she was logging on to utilise the Encyclopaedia Britannica database from HangZhou China! HangZhou is a port city approximately 130km South West of Shanghai.
Google maps indicates that it’s around a 10,000km journey from Tea Tree Gully to HangZhou, and whilst we don’t advocate kayaking across the Pacific Ocean as Google maps recommends, it’s great to see that we can provide an international service!
Library Press Display, is an uber-cool database of over 1000 newspapers from around the world is now available to access from our website. You can read today’s newspapers in full colour and full page format from a variety of countries in a number of languages!
This and other databases are available anytime day or night, you just need your library barcode to login and have a look. Check it out and let us know what you think.
The Library has recently added a couple of new online resources to our collection, which are accessible 24/7 from our website. Both are great for students for research and project information.
Simply login with your library barcode to use:
Facts on File – Ancient and Medieval History Online – provides thorough coverage of eight civilisations, including ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome and medieval Europe. Features include biographies, events and topics, primary sources, timelines, maps and charts, videos and images plus much more.
Facts on File – Science Online – covers a broad range of topics from subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Space and Astronomy and more, and features resources such as experiments, biographies, timelines, videos, diagrams to name just a few.
Give them a try and let us know what you think!
Looking for up to date, reliable information on a broad range of topics? Go to the Library Databases page where you can access Encyclopedia Britannica Online. (Just need to enter your library barcode number).
Keywood search or browse three different areas,
- Encyclopedia Britannica – suitable for high school students and above
- Britannica Student – for middle school age students
- Britannica Junior – suitable for primary and junior primary students
Let us know what you think!
Good Reading Online
If books are your thing and you’re keen to keep up with all the goings on in the literary world, then Good Reading Online is for you!
The Library subscribes to Good Reading Online, which is an exact digital copy of Good Reading Magazine (which is in the Library collection) and is available to library users via the Library’s databases page.
You can read the latest edition of the magazine, access issues dating back to 2001 and search all of these issues for articles about your favourite authors or books.
You can also access additional features on the GR Home website, such as book reviews, First Chapters, take part in reader forums, enter competitions and find resources for book groups plus much more.
As part of the Library’s Internet Training program, we will be running some sessions called Books and Collectables Online @ the Library starting in August.They will feature Good Reading Online and one of our other online resources, PriceIt, a database for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles.
If you’re interested, check out our Internet Training page for session times and booking details.
Like to find out how much some of the old bits and pieces lying around at home are worth? Then go to the Library website Databases page where you can login and access our latest online resource, Price It! – Antiques & Collectibles database.
Price It! is used for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles and its data sources include online auction sources (eBay and GoAntiques), online retail and land based auction houses. It provides access to millions of antiques and collectible items that have recently been sold, to help you value these items accurately. New subjects and content are added monthly.
There are various ways to search including keyword, images and price range.
There is also a directory of collecting clubs from around the world.
We are really interested in your feedback about Price It!, so when you’ve tried it, please leave a comment!
Good Reading Online
The Library has just subscribed to Good Reading Online, an exciting new Australian resource that contains a wide variety of interesting information on everything about books, including reviews, author profiles and stories, bookshops, short stories, book trivia and much more.
The online edition is a digital copy of Good Reading magazine but has the added benefits of links to more information, interesting websites and email addresses. You can browse and keyword search the current issue and the Archive contains all issues dating back to May 2004.
Good Reading Online is available via the Databases page of our website.
The Library has just subscribed to a new database called TumbleReadables which can be accessed via the Databases page of our website.
TumbleReadables is an online collection of read-along titles for young children through to high school students, featuring adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read and the pages turn automatically.
Books in the collection range from picture books to teen novels, classics such as Peter Pan, Black Beauty, Hamlet, Macbeth as well as some non-fiction titles. To get an idea of what’s in the collection, click on the tab that says “Index” once you have logged on to TumbleReadables.
We’d love to hear what you think once you’ve had a go, so please leave us a comment!